Award Winners

Each year, we recognise the best and brightest shows and comedians with a series of awards presented in the final week of the Festival. Check out the individual event pages for the winners of RAW Comedy and Class Clowns.


2012 Award Winners

2012 Barry Award Winner: Dr Brown
2012 Barry Award Nominees: Tim Key, Dave Gorman, Felicity Ward, Wil Anderson & Paul Foot.

2012 Golden Gibbo Winner: Lessons with Luis

2012 Golden Gibbo Nominees: Tie her to the Tracks, Michael Williams, Aunty Donna and Watson - Shakespeare Fight Club!

2012 Melbourne Airport Best Newcomer Winners: Ronny Chieng and Matt Okine
2012 Melbourne Airport Best Newcomer Nominees: Luke Heggie & Tegan Higginbotham.

2012 Piece of Wood Award Winners: Bob Franklin & Steven Gates
2012 Directors' Choice Award: Rod Quantock
2012 Directors' Choice Award - Kids: Dr Brown and Stuart Bowden
2012 Bulmers People's Choice Award: Wil Anderson
2012 RAW Comedy Winners: Lessons with Luis
Class Clowns Winner: Aaron Chen

Previous Award Winners

Barry Award
Launched in 1998 as the 'Stella Award' and renamed in 2000 to honour the Festival's founding patron Barry Humphries, the Barry Award recognises the most outstanding Festival show. The winner gets fame, glory, a snazzy trophy and an all-important cheque.

Past winners:

2011: Russell Kane - Smokescreens and Castles
2010: Sammy J and Randy - Ricketts Lane
2009: The Pajama Men - Versus Vs Versus
2008: Joint Winners - Nina Conti - Complete and Utter Conti & Kristen Schaal - As you have probably never seen her before
2007: Daniel Kitson - it's the fireworks talking
2006: Demetri Martin Dr Earnest Parrot presents Demetri Martin
2005: The Drowsy Drivers Keating! The Opera
2004: Maria Bamford
2003: Mike Wilmot
2002: Ross Noble
2001: Brian Munich Brian Munich & Friends
2000: The Boosh Arctic Boosh
1999: Sue Ann Post G Strings and Jockstraps
1998: Linda Haggar and Fahey Younger Miss Itchy's Creme De Menthe Breakfast Show

The Melbourne Airport Best Newcomer Award
The winner of this award for the best first-timer at the Festival gets a trip to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, thanks to Melbourne Airport.

Past winners:

2011: Michael Workman - Humans Are Beautiful
2010: Claudia O'Doherty - Monsters of the Deep 3D
2009: Tom Ballard Is What He Is
2008: Fear Of a Brown Planet - Nazeem Hussain & Aamer Rahman
2007: Josh Thomas - Please like me
2006: Sammy J Sammy J's 55 Minute National Tour
2005: Christina Adams To Miss With Love
2004: The Kransky Sisters We Don't Have Husbands / Eddie Perfect Angry Eddie
2003: Flight of the Conchords
2002: Jim Russell, Marty Sheargold and Aidan Fennessy The Trade / The Drowsy Drivers Northcote Country Soul
2001: Fiona O'Loughlin Fiona and her sister (and some guy) / Cal Wilson Hello Kitty
2000: Gerard McCulloch An Englishman, an Irishman and a Scotsman walk into a documentary / Emma Bathgate The Dilapidated Diva

The Golden Gibbo
In memory of the late, great Lynda Gibson, who passed away in 2004, the Golden Gibbo is awarded to a local, independent show that bucks trends and pursues the artist's idea more strongly than it pursues any commercial lure.

Past winners:

2011: Geraldine Quinn - You're The Voice: Songs For The Ordinary By An Anthemaniac
2010: Sam Simmons and David Quirk - The Incident
2009: The List Operators
2008: The Suitcase Royale - The Ghosts of Ricketts Hill
2007: The Glass Boat
2006: Greg Bird Cliffy is Relaxed and Comfortable
2005: The Drowsy Drivers Keating! The Opera
2004: Jeremy & Jo Randerson Carry on Randerson / Eddie Perfect Angry Eddie

The Piece of Wood Award
The comics' choice gong is a beloved (and much bitten) piece of wood. Selected by an ever-growing committee of comedians (as each year's winner is entitled to join the voting process), it is awarded to comics for doing good stuff n' that.


Past winners:

2011: Harley Breen - I Heart Bunnings: Stories About My Brothers
2010: Sam Simmons - Fail
2009: Lawrence Mooney Make The Girls Laugh
2008: Tom Gleeson
2007: Andy Zaltzman
2006: Damian Callinan / Fiona O'Loughlin
2005: Tony Law
2004: Andrew McClelland
2003: Justin Hamilton
2002: Michael Chamberlin / Charlie Pickering
2001: Rich Fulcher
2000: Stewart Lee
1999: Simon Munnery
1998: Linda Hagger / Fahey Younger

The Directors' Choice Award
The Directors' Choice is awarded by the Comedy Festival Director, in consultation with other visiting Festival Directors, to a fabulous show that somehow missed out on any other prize.

Past winners:

2011: Denise Scott - Regrets
2010: Hannah Gadsby - The Cliff Young Shuffle
2009: The Bedroom Philosopher - Songs From The 86 Tram
2008: Sam Simmons
2007: Justin Hamilton
2006: Men of Steel / Nick Sun Blood on the Yolks in the Key of Owls

2005: Tim Minchin - Darkside

The Bulmers People's Choice Award

Launched in 2010, the Bulmers People's Choice Award is proudly sponsored by Bulmers and is awarded to the most popular show as voted by the people. The winner receives a lovely trophy and a $5,000 cheque, while punters can win a trip for two to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe simply by voting!

Past winners:

2011: Wil Anderson - Man vs. Wil
2010: Wil Anderson Wilful Misconduct (inaugural winner)

2011 Funny Tonne Award Winner: Kath Dolheguy

The Age Critics' Award
The Age Critics' Award is the reviewers' gong. In recent years, it has become The Age Critics' choice for the best local act.

Past winners:
2010: Asher Treleaven - Secret Door
2009: Celia Pacquola - Am I Strange?
2008: Sammy J - in The Forest of Dreams
2007: Lawerence Leung - Learns to breakdance
2006: Judith Lucy I Failed
2005: The Drowsy Drivers Keating! The Opera
2004: The Kransky Sisters We Don't Have Husbands
2003: Paul McDermott, Cameron Bruce and Mick Moriarty GUD UGH /Denise Scott, Judith Lucy and Lynda Gibson Comedy Is Still Not Pretty
2002: Ross Noble
2001: Brian Munich Brian Munich & Friends

RAW Comedy
RAW Comedy is Australia's biggest and most prestigious open mic comedy competition running nationally every year Jan-April.

Past Winners:
1996: Stephen Head and Anthony Manchetti (VIC)
1997: Subby Valentine (NSW)
1998: Chris Franklin (NSW)
1999: Chris Wainhouse (QLD)
2000: Drew Rokos (VIC)
2001: Emily O'Loughlin (SA)
2002: Dave Elvins (NSW)
2003: Nelly Thomas (VIC) and Steve Sheehan (SA)
2004: Nick Sun (NSW)
2005: Josh Thomas (QLD)
2006: Hannah Gadsby (TAS)
2007: Jonathan Schuster (VIC)
2008: Neil Sinclair (VIC)
2009: Michael Workman (WA)
2010: Luke Heggie (NSW)
2011: Dayne Rathbone (ACT)