Melbourne International Comedy Festival acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands upon which we work and live. We acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' spirit, imagination and rich history of storytelling and humour that is an inspiration to all Australians.

Browse Shows

Quick Links






Sign In
{{ cartMsg }}
{{ cartMsg }}

2022 Award winners


Hosted by Joel Creasey at Transit Rooftop Bar at Fed Square the nominees were joined by special guests and past winners including 2021 winner Geraldine Hickey, presenting the 2022 Award for Most Outstanding Show, Festival Director, Susan Provan AO who presented the Directors’ Choice Award, David Quirk presenting the Golden Gibbo and Greg Larsen presenting the Piece of Wood.

Taking out the top award for the 2022 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award for Most Outstanding Show is Rhys NicholsonRhys! Rhys! Rhys!

Nominees included: Aaron Chen If Weren't Filmed, Nobody Would Believe, Cameron James "Electric Dreams", Danielle Walker Nostalgia, Geraldine Quinn Broad, Greg Larsen We All Have Bloody Thoughts, and Laura Davis If This Is It.

The Best Newcomer Award, for the best solo performer or group of performers doing their first Festival show, went to Frankie McNairRelax Your Knees

Nominees included:, Bronwyn Kuss Any Goss?, Mish Wittrup Soy Fat White, Steph Broadbridge Hot Chick/Tired Mum, Sunanda – Sunanda Loves Britney and Will McKenna Appellation.

The People’s Choice Award for the most popular show of the Festival, as determined by the ticket buying public, went to Urzila CarlsonIt’s Personal.

Directors’ Choice Award, awarded by the Festival Director in consultation with festival programming colleagues to a show they think deserves to be celebrated was shared by two comedians at very different career stages, Wil AndersonWilogical and Bronwyn KussAny Goss?

The Golden Gibbo – in memory of the late, great Lynda Gibson – which is aimed at finding a local, independent show that pursues the artists’ idea more than it pursues commercial gain – went to Alex HinesTo Schapelle And Back.

Nominees included: Mel & Sam Shit-Wrecked!, Maria Angelico The Disappearing Act, Geraldine Quinn Broad, Ashley Apap Ouch!, Aiden Willcox Lightly Familiar and Ross Purdy Hey Hey It's Doomsday.

The Pinder Prize, honouring Festival co-founder John Pinder, and supporting a performer to travel to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, was given to Danielle WalkerNostalgia.

The Piece of Wood comics’ choice award, selected by past winners and presented to a peer literally for “doin’ good stuff ‘n’ that” was awarded to Tina Del Twist.

The Funny Tonne winner, as chosen by a panel of journalists and reviewers was Tessa Stickland. Read all of Tessa’s Festival show reviews here.

Head to our YouTube page to watch the 2022 Awards presentation.