Melbourne International Comedy Festival acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands upon which we work and live. We acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' spirit, imagination and rich history of storytelling and humour that is an inspiration to all Australians.

We accept the invitation to walk together with First Nations people towards a more positive future for Australia, as described in the Uluru Statement From The Heart.

Browse Shows

Quick Links





Sign In
{{ cartMsg }}
{{ cartMsg }}

2023 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award Nominees Announced

Today, Wednesday 19 April, on the steps of the Melbourne Town Hall the 2023 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award nominees for Most Outstanding Show and Best Newcomer were announced.

To celebrate the first really big, back-after-COVID Festival, a bumper list of ten nominees has been announced for the 2023 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award for Most Outstanding Show are: Emma HollandSave The Orangutans; Gillian Cosgriff – Actually, Good; Guy Williams (NZ) – Comedy Plus Time Equals Tragedy (NZ); Hannah Camilleri – Lolly Bag; Jordan Gray (UK) – Is it a Bird?; Laura Davis – Well Don't Just Stand There Dancing; Leo Reich (UK) – Literally Who Cares?!; Liz Kingsman – One Woman Show; Rosie Jones (UK) – Triple Threat; and Tom Ballard – It Is I.

Best Newcomer nominations – for a solo performer or group of performers doing their first Festival show – include: Aiden Willcox & Isaac HaighSongs from the Heart in the Hole of my Bottom; Andrew HamiltonJokes About the Time I Went to Prison; Bron LewisProbably; Freddie McManusFreddie McManus Is Stoppable; He HuangBad Bitch; Ray O'Leary (NZ) – Everything Funny All The Time Always; and Sashi PereraEndings.

The Golden Gibbo – in memory of the late, great Lynda Gibson – is aimed at finding a local, independent show that pursues the artists’ idea more than it pursues commercial gain. The 2023 nominees are: Andy Balloch – Am I the Drama; Con Coutis – Con vs Con vs Con; Gillian Cosgriff – Actually, Good; Liam Sparrow-Grange – The Magical Tram of Thought! and Woah, Alyssa! 5.

Winners will be announced on Saturday with additional awards bestowed including; Directors’ Choice, awarded by the Festival Director in consultation with festival programming colleagues to a show they think deserves to be celebrated; the People’s Choice Award for the most popular show of the Festival as determined by the ticket buying public; The Pinder Prize, honouring Festival co-founder John Pinder, and supporting a performer to travel to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe; and the Piece of Wood comics’ choice award, selected by past winners and presented to a peer literally for “doin’ good stuff ‘n’ that”.