Browse Shows

Quick Links




And The 2017 Award Winners Are...

On Saturday 22 April at the Festival Club it was with our absolute pleasure that we announced the award winners for the 2017 Melbourne International Comedy Festival!

2017 Barry Award Winner: Hannah Gadsby - Nanette
2017 Barry Award Nominees: Richard Gadd - Monkey See Monkey Do, Damien Power - Utopia: Now in 3D!, Anne Edmonds - No Offence, None Taken, Tom Walker - Bee Boo, Sammy J - Hero Complex

2017 Golden Gibbo Winner: Granny Bingo - A Visit With Nan In A Caravan
2017 Golden Gibbo Nominees: Clara Cupcakes - The Worst, Michelle Brasier & Laura Frew - Double Denim, Rama Nicholas - The Lucky Ones, Fran Middleton - Ceiling Fran and Game Boys - Clash Battle Warlords Age of Candy Robots Royal Strike Kingdom Mobile Legends Saga

2017 Best Newcomer Winner: Angus Gordon Sad Boy Comedy Hour & Aaron Chen The Infinite Faces of Chenny Baby
2017 Best Newcomer Nominees: Fringe Wives Club Glittery Clittery: A ConSENSUAL Party, The Travelling Sisters and Sam Taunton Taunts Down For What

2017 Pinder Prize Winner:  Damien Power - Utopia: Now in 3D

2017 Director's Choice Award:  Demi Lardner - Look What You Made Me Do

2017 Piece of Wood Award:  Luke Heggie - Rough Diamanté

Vodafone People's Choice Award:  Denise Scott and Judith Lucy - Disappointments & Wil Anderson - Critically Wil

2017 Raw Comedy Winner:  Zack Dyer (VIC)

2017 Class Clowns Winner:  Daniel Reeve (NSW)

2017 Deadly Funny Winner:  Genoa Gela (NSW)

2017 Funny Tonner:  William Erskine - 154 shows

Congratulations to all nominees and every participant of the Festival, what an incredible year!