2023 RAW Comedy National Grand Final

Melbourne International Comedy Festival’s RAW Comedy National Grand Final took place on Sunday 16 April and crowned Henry Yan the best new talent in the country. Hosted by Dilruk Jayasinha, and featuring a special guest performance from Chloe Petts (UK) and Rob Auton (UK), 13 finalists from around Australia took part in the competition showcasing the freshest and funniest new talent.

In addition to the much-lauded winning title, Henry Yan from Victoria will laugh all the way to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, where they’ll have a chance to compete in So You Think You’re Funny? Jacquelyn Richards (ACT), Meg Jager (QLD) and Rapha Manajem (VIC) were all named runner-ups.

For the past 28 years, Melbourne International Comedy Festival has presented RAW Comedy – giving aspiring comedians from across Australia the opportunity to compete with their wit at the country’s largest and most prestigious open mic comedy competition.

Over the course of the last four months, almost one thousand budding comedians from all corners of the nation registered to compete across a total of 60 heats and finals in RAW Comedy, hitting stages with their best 5 min set.

Only 13 finalists made it to the RAW Comedy National Grand Final at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival, including: Elysia Hall (NSW), Ginny Hollands (VIC), Hadi Kilman (SA), Henry Yan (VIC), Jack O'Sullivan (TAS), Jacquelyn Richards (ACT), Jarryd Prain (NSW), Meg Jager (QLD), Nicole Shi (WA), Rapha Manajem (VIC), Scott Northover (NT), Trish Hurley (ACT) and William Wang (VIC).

All finalists now join the elite ranks of Australia’s comedy scene, with RAW Comedy National Finalist Alumni including: Hannah GadsbyRonny ChiengMatt OkineBecky LucasAaron ChenSarah KendallSam SimmonsCelia PacquolaLuke McGregorRhys NicholsonTom BallardAnne EdmondsSam CampbellGeorgie CarrollDavid WoodheadCassie Workman and more.

The 2023 RAW Comedy National Grand Final will be broadcast on SBS Viceland and SBS On Demand in July 2023.