Melbourne International Comedy Festival acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands upon which we work and live. We acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' spirit, imagination and rich history of storytelling and humour that is an inspiration to all Australians.

We accept the invitation to walk together with First Nations people towards a more positive future for Australia, as described in the Uluru Statement From The Heart.

Browse Shows

Quick Links





Sign In
{{ cartMsg }}
{{ cartMsg }}

Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2023


The Nominees have been announced for the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, an eagerly anticipated event in the world of comedy. This prestigious award, formerly known as the Perrier Comedy Award, recognises outstanding comedic talent emerging from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Last year Sam Campbell took the win, and will be passing the baton to one of the talented 2023 nominees, a wonderfully diverse array of comedians, some of whom may be familiar from past appearances at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival. Notably, Ahir Shah, who featured in New Order (2017) and also presented his debut solo show Duffer (2019) and Kieran Hodgson, who astounded audiences with his clever humor and love for classical music in Maestro (2017), are among the nominees. A special mention goes to Natalie Palamides for directing the show The Amazing Banana Brothers starring Bill O'Niell, which has also earned a nomination. As the excitement builds, we extend our best wishes to all the nominees and eagerly anticipate the unveiling of this year's deserving winners.


Here is the full list of nominees:

Sky Best Comedy Show

  • Ahir Shah - Ends
  • Ania Magliano I Can't Believe You've Done This
  • Emmanuel Sonubi - Curriculum Vitae
  • Ian Smith Crushing
  • Janine Harouni - Man'oushe
  • Julia Masli - ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
  • Kieran Hodgson - Big In Scotland
  • Phil Ellis - Phil Ellis's Excellent Comedy Show

DLT Entertainment Best Newcomer

  • Bill O'Neill - The Amazing Banana Brothers
  • Dan Tiernan Going Under
  • Lindsey Santoro - Pink Tinge
  • Louise Young - Feral
  • Martin Urbano - Apology Comeback Tour
  • Paddy Young - Hungry, Horny, Scared
  • Urooj Ashfaq - Oh No!


UPDATE: The winners have been announced! Congratulations to:

 2023 Sky Best Comedy Show Award Winner Ahir Shah for Ends

2023 DLT Entertainment Best Newcomer Award Winner Urooj Ashfaq for Oh No!