Melbourne International Comedy Festival acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands upon which we work and live. We acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' spirit, imagination and rich history of storytelling and humour that is an inspiration to all Australians.




{{ cartMsg }}
{{ cartMsg }}

2021 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Awards

Saturday 17 April, 2021


On the final Saturday of the 2021 Melbourne International Comedy Festival, the Australian comedy industry came together to celebrate the highlights of this year’s Festival. Hosted by Adam Hills at The Toff in Town, the nominees were joined by special guests and past winners including Festival Director, Susan Provan AO who presented the Directors’ Choice & People’s Choice Awards, as well as 2019 Winner James Acaster (via video), presenting the 2021 Most Outstanding Show award from his home in London.

Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award for the Most Outstanding Show

Winner: Geraldine Hickey What a Surprise

Nominees: Aaron Chen Sorry Forever, David Quirk Astonishing Obscurity, Ivan Aristeguieta Piñata, Luke Heggie Lowbreed, Michelle Brasier Average Bear, Nikki Britton One Small Step and Reuben Kaye The Butch is Back

Best Newcomer Award

Winner: Charlie Zangel Cockatiel

Nominees: Anna Piper Scott Queer & Present Danger, Chris Ryan Big Hair, Big Dreams and Scout Boxall Good Egg

The Best Newcomer is awarded to a solo performer or group of performers doing their first Festival show.

People’s Choice Award

Winner: Daniel Sloss (SCO) Hubris

The People's Choice is awarded to the most popular show of the Festival as determined by the ticket buying public.

Directors’ Choice Award

Winner: Melanie Bracewell (NZ) The Rumours Are True

The Directors' Choice is awarded by the Melbourne International Comedy Festival Director in consultation with festival programming colleagues.

The Golden Gibbo

Winners: Nat Harris & Hannah Camilleri Pét-Nat + Han ah Chocolat

Nominees: Alasdair Tremblay-Birchall & Andy Matthews Teleport, Ben Knight Teacher, Claire Sullivan Toast Rat and Woah, Alyssa! Woah, Alyssa! 3

The Golden Gibbo is awarded in memory of the late, great Lynda Gibson to a local, independent show that pursues the artists’ idea more than it pursues commercial gain.

The Piece of Wood

Winner: Greg Larsen This Might Not Be Hell

The Piece of Wood is the comics’ choice award, selected by past winners and presented to a peer literally for “doin’ good stuff ‘n’ that”.

The Funny Tonne

Winner: Bren Carruthers

Awarded to the Funny Tonner with the best reviews as judged by a panel of expert arts critics.