2010 National Grand Final

Thirteen of the nation’s sharpest school aged comic acts battled it out at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival’s Class Clowns National Grand Final, on 7 September at The Malthouse Theatre, for their chance to be crowned the most hilarious teen act in the country.

The top prize was awarded to Queensland comedian Matthew Ford, who not only walked away with a novelty human-sized cheque, but also pocketed $1000 in cash plus another $1000 for his school, Cavendish Road High School.

Judges Bronwyn Pike MP (Minister for Education), Sammy J (Barry Award Winner 2010), Denise Scott (Comedian and TEN’s 7PM Project regular) and Virginia Lovett (MICF General Manager) were impressed by the diversity of all 13 acts, which included musical parodies, ensemble sketch comedy and stand-up. After much deliberation, it was Matthew’s confidence and outstanding comedic timing that won the judges over.

Runner Up was awarded to Ned Hirst (Daramalan College, ACT), Tasmin McFarlane and Polly Mauldlin (Melbourne Girls College, VIC) and Scratch Me Happy (Marist College, ACT).

Judge Sammy J said: “It’s sickening to see how far ahead these guys already are - they’ve already conquered first gig nerves and they cant even drive. I got to work with some of these students in the Queensland workshops and it was awesome to see how committed they are to their comedy.”

Emcee Tom Gleeson said: “Matthew had the relaxed, laid-back presence of a headliner who’s been doing this for the last 10 years. I just couldn’t believe that I could watch a 17-year old talk on stage for five minutes and be wanting to hear more. This 2010 Class Clowns Grand Final resembles what a Raw Comedy Grand Final used to be.”

Proudly Supported By